Self-Test on Digital Literacy

  1. Accessing, managing and evaluating online information (Rating : 2)
    • Being a student gives me an added benefit to access journals online for free. My university provides me an opportunity to look at these articles.
  2. Participating in online communities (Rating : 1)
    • I would not say that I am actively involved in any online community, but, I do leave comments if the need arises.
  3. Building online networks around an area of interest (Rating : 4)
    • My interest would include fashion, food and traveling. My personal Instagram account does reflect this and I manage it well so I would say I build my network around this.
  4. Collaborating with others (Rating : 1)
    • I don’t really work together with anyone to produce something on the Internet. Whatever I display on the Internet is from me rarely from a group that I am in.
  5. Creating online materials (text, audio, images, video) (Rating : 2)
    • I don’t really create much content. But I do take pictures and edit it. Sometimes, I do Vlogs but its not for the public to see. I do Snapchat stories for my friends who have my number.
  6. Managing your online identity (Rating : 3)
    • I try to keep 2 separate accounts, thus 2 different identities. One is a more professional one, while the other is more informal, which I keep private.
  7. Managing your online privacy and security (Rating : 3)
    • As I have 2 identities online, one is more private, the other isn’t.

After looking at the different components of digital literacy and seeing that my score if very low I hope to improve it from this module. Hopefully, a score of 4 and above for each component? Hopefully!!!

Leave a comment